Home Industry Development ASEAN NCAP – Allowing Better Informed Choices for Vehicle Buyers
ASEAN NCAP – Allowing Better Informed Choices for Vehicle Buyers

ASEAN NCAP – Allowing Better Informed Choices for Vehicle Buyers


More than half a million new vehicles are registered each year in Malaysia. In order to ensure consumer’s safety on the road, meticulous focus should be given to manufacturing vehicles with better safety features.

All vehicles must pass regulatory requirements before they are allowed to be operated on the roads through the process of Vehicle Type Approval (VTA) that is conducted by Road Transport Department Malaysia (JPJ) (in Malaysia) to ensure that vehicles running on the road adhere safety and environmental standards set in Malaysia.

However, how safe is a car during a crash? This is where ASEAN NCAP comes into play.*Photo source: ASEAN NCAP’s Official Facebook Page

The New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asia (ASEAN NCAP), formed in 2011, is an automobile safety rating program jointly established by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and Global New Car Assessment Program (Global NCAP).

The evaluation of a car’s safety standards will undergo crash tests that measure the ability of the car to protect the occupants during accidents.  The ASEAN NCAP star ratings reflect how safe the car is from a scale of one to five; the higher the number the safer the car. During the crash test, evaluation will be made according to:

*Photo source: ASEAN NCAP’s Official Facebook Page

Rating would be separated in 2 categories;

  1. Adult Occupant Protection (AOP)
  2. Child Occupant Protection (COP)

Rating are as follow:

  1. AOP (50%)
  2. COP (50%)


Perodua Axia – Crash Test *Photo source: ASEAN NCAP’s Official Facebook Page

Furthermore, requirements of the vehicles tests are classified based on segment, where different segments will have different weight and speed that requires a precise test.

There is a general guideline that has been set for all organizations around the world, each NCAP has the authority to set additional requirements to ensure cars that are produced reflects the needs of its region based on the driving behaviour of consumers.

Here’s the list of NCAPs in the world:

  • Global NCAP
  • Latin NCAP
  • Euro NCAP
  • JNCAP (Japan)
  • C-NCAP (China)
  • KNCAP (Korean)
  • IIHS (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety)

Recently, ASEAN NCAP has included Blind Spot Technology (BST) in their current assessment protocol as part of the requirement in obtaining points for ASEAN NCAP star rating.

In line with the National Automotive Policy (NAP2014), to safeguard consumers’ interest by offering safer and better-quality products at competitive prices. Safety Assist Technology helps to prevent collisions and reduce the injury during collisions while keeping prices competitive.  For example, the new Perodua Myvi equipped with the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) is priced at RM 55,300.00.


Photo source: Perodua Myvi’s Product Video

Due to their size compared to other vehicles, motorcyclists are the group most vulnerable to blind spots. The blind spot development test is based on the ASEAN NCAP 2017-2020 protocol in which the technology is included under the Safety Assist domain as part of MIROS’s aspiration to reduce motorcyclist fatalities in the ASEAN region.

“The test will also prepare us for our future roadmap for 2021-2030 that will place priority in motorcycle safety by having a special domain for it in the future assessment,” said MIROS.

Find out more on Vehicle Crash Test & ASEAN NCAP.